San Roque New Golf course

3.73 / 5 143 ratings. (95 course reviews)
Course: San Roque New Golf course in SPAIN
Region: Andalucia, Province: Malaga, Municipality: Alameda, Coast: Costa del Sol
San Roque New Golf
San Roque New Golf
San Roque New Golf

San Roque New Golf Course is the latest addition at the San Roque Golf which opened in 2004. These 18 holes was host to the 2006 Spanish Open and PGA qualifying school. Despite its age, San Rogue New course is a very mature course. A variety of large and deep bunkers filled with crushed marble sand waits for your drives from the tee and shots toward the greens. An abundance of cork and oak trees outline many of the fairways. The 4th hole par 3, try to play it from the special Seve tee.

Course reviews:

 4 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2019-09-27

"Good conditions except from the greens that had been maintained recently. Most expansive buggy bar that we seen during our visit this year." - The swede

 4 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2019-09-23

"San Roque New has always been a great and challenging layout and it is now in better condition than I have seen it in many years. There is a considerable amount of water on the course but you can avoid it by playing cautiously. The greens are difficult with some being raised and others well guarded by bunkers and humps and hollows. The fairways are very well bunkered and at times it can feel like you are plotting your way around an obstacle course but it is a great test of golf. There are lovely views of the ocean on the back nine particularly and because there are no houses on the course one feels more at one with nature. Customer service has improved there and they are renovating the club house hopefully improving the locker rooms for visitors. The food is expensive there though. Overall a very nice experience " - Paul Twigden

 4 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2019-08-01

"some greens are suddenly slover,than others ,otherwise very good course" - Anonymous

 3 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2019-07-27

"En markant försämring av banan har tyvärr skett på de senaste två åren. Från att ha varit en välskött bana med fin kvalitet, till en dåligt skött bana med stenhårda gräsbevuxna bunkrar, tufsigt gräs på fairway och stora brunbrända gräspartier. Tyvärr inte alls prisvärd, men trevlig layout." - Katarina

 4.5 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2019-05-05

"Course was in great condition. I actually prefer it to The Old Course and it is certainly far better value for money. 2 or 3 holes that are average (a bit squeezed in), but all the rest are great golf holes - especially the ones with green side lakes." - El Shug

 4.4 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2019-05-03

"No Buggies!" - Anonymous

 4.2 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2019-01-23

"This is the fifth time I have played this course.Since my last visit all the tee boxes have been re-laid and are now in excellent condition. This is also true of the rest of the course, except the bunkers which were a little short of sand in some places. The greens were among the quickest we have played anywhere. This is not an easy golf course. We used the slope rating to adjust our handicaps, which was a sensible move. Fairways are tight and greens well protected. A very good test of golf, but still playable for most low and mid handicap golfers in my view. Off course facilities are all good. The small, but cosy, clubhouse is a great place for breakfast before the round and drinks afterwards. A buggy is essential here. Very hilly course and long distances between greens and tees." - Clive

 2.7 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2019-01-23

"poor facilities for visitors" - Anon

 3.4 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2019-01-12

"we start 9.20 and it took 5 hours for 3 player. There was no Marshall to speed up, and there was only 2 balls in front go very slowly." - Anonymous

 3.7 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2019-01-04

"Quite empty so therefore we could get round at our own pace with no problems. Greens were fast, course in good condition . better than when I have played it previously." - the golfer

 3.9 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2018-12-31

"This i one of our favorite courses. It is not easy and is very long. But it is very fun to play. This is the 3:rd year we visit this course and we will be back if we come back to Spain next year." - Helen

 4 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2018-11-29

"for November it was excellant" - irishman

 3.4 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2018-11-10

"Course was ok. In restorant Staff forgot us, members was More important" - Anonymous

 4 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2018-11-09

"Very good price/quality. Very nice service of really good course" - Hans

 3.8 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2018-11-07

"Demanding , especially the Greens, but enjoyable and challenging" - Norling

 4.6 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2018-11-02

"Den enda nackdelen var att det tog lång tid ca 5 timmar." - Elis

 4.3 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2018-10-28

"Beautiful, not a flat surface anywhere so a great challenge. Would definitely play again." - ASW

 3.5 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2018-10-13

"Disappointed in the course. Lots of damage on the fairways. Wanted buggies but had to push to get them. Thx Golf Service for helping" - MG

 3.3 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2018-10-11

"En rolig, smal och riktigt utmanande bana. Om man inte är rak från tee blir man bestraffad." - Pelle

 3.6 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2018-10-09

"mycket fin bana för det priset. vi betalade 56 euro inkl bil kl 15.00" - sven

 4.4 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2018-10-01

"Really nice course between ilive trees" - Anonymous

 4.4 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2018-09-26

"A great deal from golf services. Course wonderful. Staff friendly. Could not ask for better. Really enjoyable day." - Brian

 3.5 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2018-09-25

"Tough course, great value for money." - Ken

 4.1 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2018-09-12

"Despite the recent maintenance, the course was in great condition. Greens a bit slow but otherwise great and that was to be expected so soon after maintenance." - Anonymous

 4 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2018-08-30

"Best condition I have seen this course in for a few years" - Les

 3.6 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2018-08-01

"Banan hade sämre skick i år än vad den hade förra året." - Anonymous

 3.7 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2018-07-10

"San Roque New is a good value course adjacent to its more famous Old course. Well presented with good greens and Tees albeit bunkers were in variable condition. A number of tight fairways you need to be in the right positions off the Tees" - Mickyj

 3.1 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2018-05-29

"Course is for good golfers. Tees and fairways are not in good condition." - Mic3geo

 4 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2018-05-10

"Good course, good value, fairly quiet Very good service on arrival from caddymaster" - Anonymous

 2.7 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2018-04-29

"Dåligt skyltat till nästa tee.. Skicket på banan var inte bra .." - Anonymous

 3.9 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2018-04-14

"Prisvärd bana i väldigt bra skick. Upplevelsen är väldigt härlig med utsikt mot havet och bergen från nästan alla hål. Vissa hål (3?) har dolda utslag från tee." - Jonny3

 2.7 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2018-04-13

"The course have deteriorated during the last year. I played Rio Real the day before and there is an enormous difference in quality. San Roque New have scabby fairways but ok greens. The staff is nice and the shop is very good. A big WARNING for the restaurant! The food is now the worst ever! It used to be fine but we tried three dishes and e.g. the burgers are unbeatable. To sum it up. San Roque New is as said deteriorated and NOT worth playing if it does not improve a lot! It is a fun course but spend your money on e.g. Rio Real instead." - Mats

 3.9 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2018-04-09

"As always is realy Nice too play this course." - Mr. Hansen

 2.7 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2018-03-07

"Course condition very poor greens fairways and tees" - Pedro

 4 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2018-02-19

"The New course is interesting and enjoyable to play. There are no buildings to spoil the view, which is rare on the Costa del Sol. The green are very fast. Unfortunately, the fairways were too dry." - Soyblack

 4.2 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2018-02-07

"We played the New Course, the field is very beautiful and challenging especially if played by white tees. The field conditions were not the best: greens, bunkers but maybe this is partly due to the winter season." - Anonymous

 3.4 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2018-02-02

"Value for money." - Ken smith

 3.8 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2017-12-23

"Played San Roque several times over past few years and have enjoyed the course and conditions. However, my latest visit was vastly different. The fairways were in poor condition as were many of the greens. It seems to have been neglected for some unknown reason. Clubhouse, pro shop and caddy master all still excellent but are so sadly let down by the course. Would not visit again." - M and P

 4 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2017-11-24

"Apart from one hole on the front 9, the course was excellent." - Anonymous

 4.1 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2017-11-07

"Th caddymaster was very kind, we played starting from 10. It was great!" - Helmut

 3.7 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2017-11-05

"Very nice for this price!" - Marc Peeters

 3.5 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2017-11-02

"Very interesting and challeging course, espacially in Winde conditions. Much better than courses around Marbella, where it was packed with bad golfers and Play was too slow" - Flenso

 4.2 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2017-10-12

"Played on a twilight deal would recommend this option as better value for money" - Chris

 3.5 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2017-09-30

"We had booked buggies in advance BUT they had no buggies available when we turned up and made and told us to walk. ( And offered no refund). They have now got greedy and sending 4 balls every 8 minutes..always late tee offs Hello????" - Anonymous

 4.2 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2017-09-27

"The only things that were not of good standard were the tee areas and some of the greens. Nevertheless we still enjoyed ourselves" - Joe Luis

 4 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2017-09-18

"One of our favourite courses despite a one hour drive from our resort. We have liked to walk it in the past but buggy was included in our package and would be important for most players. Great views enhance the enjoyment of a varied, challenging but very playable course. Condition was very good across the board, we have no complaints." - Anonymous

 3.5 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2017-09-17

"Varied holes which require course management to.score well." - Anonymous

 3.8 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2017-09-12

"San Roque New is a beautiful course, in excellent condition, with lovely views from most holes. Good layout and very varied holes. Scoring was difficult off the yellow tees, most probably because of lack of knowledge of the course, but also because of the greens which were very fast and difficult to read. The short hole on the front nine with Seves Tee was a great hole. The course might benefit from better signage regarding the use of the buggy tracks, for example where to leave the track and where to rejoin it, and regarding the direction of the next tee. We followed the buggy track to the wrong tee once. Overall, a tremendously enjoyable course and one to which I hope to return." - Paul Davies

 4.6 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2017-08-23

"Course was in excellent condition greens quick an really true. Played at 2pm and course was empty. Would definitely play again" - Pikey

 3.5 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2017-08-01

"So many very pretty holes.. Just a shame we could not order food when we finished playing as no evening food service." - Happy Golfer

 4.6 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2017-07-08

"A great course which in my opinion can stand up against the old course condition of course was excellent and in July very quiet which helps for a quick round. The price for July, around 70 euros each including buggy which I thought was a little high." - Graham malcolm

 3.8 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2017-06-25

"It is one of my favorite courses on the Costa del Sol from price-quality perspective. Some neglect is becoming visible, but not affecting the game." - Dutch

 3 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2017-04-12

" Banan har dålig finish, det är uppenbart att klubben slutat att investera i den sedan många år tillbaka, tees är dåligt märkta och börjar förfalla, fairway är OK, men håller inte San Roque kvalitet, greenerna är dock bra. Under hela rundan kom inte en enda caddymaster eller buggy med mat, dålig oinspirerad service. Sura persoenr i både klubbhus och i baren. San Roque måste skärpa sig, om de vill ha kvar sitt starka varumärke." - Richard

 2.6 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2017-04-10

"Felt like the poor neglected sister to the old course. Fairways tufty and overgrown in places, paths broken and in disrepair, and the bunkers were very neglected with very little sand in quite a few of them, which considering this course has a huge number of bunkers as traps made playing unpleasant. There are some really great holes such as the challenging 9th, which runs down towards a lake with a bunker running the length of it and the green tucked behind. A but more care would make this course excellent. The restaurant staff were rude, lost our order then brought the wrong item, but made us feel as if we were at fault and no real apology! Certainly would not eat there again. Not value for money in any respect. Very dissapointing." - Lizzie

 4.3 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2017-03-20

"Excellent course with good practice facilities Have played the cousre several times and always enjoy playing the New Course" - Hirkebosj

 2.7 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2017-03-12

"Some nice holes but in general a disappointment. The price is fair though as the price reflects the condition of the course." - Anonymous

 2.8 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2017-03-12

"course was in very bad condition we are 6 guys with the same opinion. fairways in particular was horrible and to much people on course. 18 holes took 5 hours and 15 minutes which is a joke" - Anonymous

 3.3 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2017-03-06

"Training with National Champs team Holland and played New Course. After play lunch and training. Asked for a special deal for range balls as 1 euro for 8 balls is stupid. No co-operation. Even a known member could not help us to play from grass with free balls. Other courses in neighbourhood offered this service to us. This was the last time for us to play San Roque, too bad!!" - Frank

 3.8 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2017-02-27

"Very good layout,always good to play San Roque,if you play to your handicap around here , you have played very well" - Anonymous

 4 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2017-02-25

"Worth the few extra euros. A well thought out layout with no weak holes. Very enjoyable and not too bad to walk." - Andrew Brookes

 3.1 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2017-01-29

"The greens were bad and under work" - Fredrik

 3.7 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2017-01-08

"It is an Interesting course,Calm, in a Pleasant corkoak- area." - Angelika

 4 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2017-01-07

"The green fee was substantially reduced because of damage to the course by the rain in December. The course was however in better condition than others we have played recently which did not offer discount. There was only one bunker we saw that was not playable on the whole course. The course has a few tight holes on the front 9, but generally it is a fair test of golf. The stand out holes are the 4 holes with water beside the greens." - El Shug

 4 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2017-01-04

"Mycket prisvärd bana. Smal och svår men mycket trevlig. Spelar den gärna igen. Favorithål var nr 9. Trevligt bemötande särskilt av caddiemaster." - John

 4.2 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2017-01-03

"Friendly greeting, course well presented and greens slick. Good views. We both walked (I carried and my wife used electric trolleys which was fine.couple of longish walks to tees and couple of minor hills but generally flat. Course pretty quiet, maybe because Green fee a bit expensive, like all courses on Costa Del Sol the price hike on 1 March is a bit steep. Feel the costa needs to get a bit more competitive in its pricing" - MickyJ

 3.3 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2017-01-02

"Överraskande dålig finish på banan. Annars goda förutsättningar för att vara en bra bana." - Mikael

 3.6 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2016-12-24

"Good variety of holes with adequate water hazards. Fairways were poor after recent heavy rainfall. " - MRH

 3.7 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2016-11-15

"Good layout in good condition good pace of play will return well worth a visit" - PJH

 4.3 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2016-11-12

"Excellent Par 5,s Challenging Par 3,s Generally a tough course" - M2000NM

 4 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2016-10-22

"Played it many times and good value. Tough course but always fun." - Anonymous

 3.5 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2016-10-14

"Banan var i bra skick! Lagom hastighet på greenerna. Det hade regnat mycket två dagar inna. Så bunkrarna var i dåligt skick. Annars var det helt ok" - Andreas

 3.8 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2016-09-29

"the course was very nice, the lady in the proshop was not friendly and the service in the restaurant was terrible" - Anonymous

 3.5 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2016-09-22

"Ridiculous number of bunkers some of which penalise good shots from average golfers" - Anonymous

 3.7 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2016-09-08

"The course was in good condition as usual and played reasonably tough as usual. Th putting surfaces ran true which is important to score round a difficult track like this." - T

 4.1 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2016-06-16

"Compared with other courses in the region the course was no better in every aspects. Therefore I found the pricing some 20 euros too much. But I am glad I played the course, although my scoring was below par but not because the course was too hard." - Trevor J

 3.7 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2016-06-06

"This is a tough course which shouldnt be played by anyone who doesnt play regularly or who is slightly wild. It is not forgiving but if you are straight and reasonably long its a lovely course. Its good, value is reasonable but there are better courses nearby (although more expensive) and also better value for money to be found (la canada for example)" - Reviewer

 3.9 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2016-05-17

"course was great but very hard with narrow fairways and a lot of blind shots. Restaurant was very expensive." - pedro

 3.8 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2016-04-29

"San Roque New is well worth visiting for the challenge it provides. Not one for the faint hearted." - Anonymous

 3.1 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2016-04-18

"For the price I expected more service and a higher standard of amenity. Great clubhouse but: driving range should be grass, a buggy for 44EUR is far too expensive, there was no starter on the first tee, buggy paths were untidy. Other courses nearby are generally much better value." - the golfer

 3.4 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2016-04-17

"Although layout was excellent and greens first class the condition of tees fairways and surrounds let the course down." - andrew horne

 3.9 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2016-04-16

"Lovely course. Maybe a few blind shots. We think this and Almanera are the toughest courses on the costa,even more than the Old, Valdarama and Sotogrande. Great value too." - spiggy

 3 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2016-03-23

"The condition of the course was okay, with the exception of the bunkers, which were terrible. The layout was challenging, but it was overpriced." - GolfDK

 4 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2016-03-22

"We played Old and New a few times. The price difference between the two courses isnt fair in my opinion. The condition of the Old Course is a littlebit better but the New course offers some nice holes too. We Always enjoy playing here!" - PapahaswonNL

 4 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2016-02-25

"Mycket svår, inget för hög och medel hcp. San Rouqe old klart bättre" - Anonymous

 4.5 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2015-09-21

"The course is by itself difficult (rather small+ tricky fairways; I really do not see the need for all these bunkers. I suppose this course is just too difficult for a 14 handicap." - patrick

 4.1 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2015-09-15

"Great to look at, great to play, great views all round. Played as a two ball, first off at 0800hrs so had the course to ourselves. We walked it, no challenge if you are fit." - Bart

 3.8 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2015-09-07

"Many of the Drives are challenging and the course requires a tight game.Second shots into the greens need to be hit with authority. Many of the bunkers are large and it is often sensible to play safe and come out sideways. Any stableford score in the thirties represents an accomplished round." - Keith

 4.2 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2015-07-06

"One of the best in Costa Del Sol." - Jay

 4 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2015-05-26

"Beautiful and interesting course, mid to high handicaps need their A game.Bring lots of balls!" - Oldest Swinger

 3.7 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2015-04-26

"Course not as good as in the past. Very tough and poorly maintained off fairways." - Kingston

 3.6 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2015-03-19

"deception compare 5 years ago same deception for the old course" - Anonymous

 3.9 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2015-03-02

"Great and challenging layout. Must play again sometime!" - SH

 3.5 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2014-11-18

"Very challenging" - Norling

 3.9 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2014-11-10

"Excellent course. Not suited for higher handcaps because too difficult. Very nice environment and views. Did not seem very busy." - Anonymous

 3.3 / 5 San Roque New Golf course played: 2014-10-22

"Trolley is not Good, Everything is build för biggys." - Anonymous


© 1998-2019 GOLF SERVICE (Nombre fiscal: PETER NILSSON S.L, Cif: B-29884525)
• Plaza de las Orquideas • Edificio Orquidea - Local 6 • 29660 NUEVA ANDALUCÍA • MARBELLA • MÁLAGA • SPAIN •
Get Affiliate  •  Golf Service Spain on Instagram  •   Golf Service Twitter  •   Golf Service on Facebook